So far this year, five states have released their 2013 minimum wage rates. All five states have announced an increase. Effective January 1, 2013, the minimum hourly wage rates in Montana, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island and Washington will go up. An increase to the state minimum wage rate in Colorado has also been proposed.
Ten states have laws in place that require the minimum wage rate be adjusted annually to keep pace with inflation and reflect changes in the consumer price index (CPI). Those states are Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, Ohio, Oregon, Vermont and Washington. So far, Montana, Ohio, Oregon and Washington have announced their 2013 minimum wage rates. Colorado has a 2013 rate proposal pending.
State Minimum Wage Rate Increases for 2013
Colorado's Department of Labor and Employment proposed an increase in the minimum wage rate to $7.78 an hour from $7.64 an hour for nontipped employees and to $4.76 an hour from $4.62 an hour for tipped employees, effective January 1, 2013. A hearing on the rate increase proposal is scheduled for November 1, 2012.
In Montana, the minimum wage rate is to increase to $7.80 an hour from $7.65 an hour. Montana law does not allow employers to take a tip credit against minimum wage for tipped employees.
The Ohio Department of Commerce has announced that the minimum wage rate in Ohio will increase to $7.85 an hour from $7.70 an hour for nontipped employees and to $3.93 an hour from $3.85 an hour for tipped employees. This increase is effective January 1, 2013. The increased rate is to apply to employees of businesses with annual gross receipts of more than $288,000 a year. A new Ohio 2013 minimum wage poster is now available in English.
The Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries has announced that the state minimum wage rate is to increase to $8.95 an hour from $8.80 an hour, effective January 1, 2013. Oregon law does not allow employers to take a tip credit against minimum wage for tipped employees. New labor law compliance posters reflecting the increase are currently available in English and Spanish.
The Rhode Island General Assembly announced earlier this year that the minimum wage rate in Rhode Island will rise to $7.75 per hour, which is an increase of 35 cents over the current rate, effective January 1, 2013. This is the first minimum wage increase for Rhode Island since 2007. Rhode Island employers will be required to post a new minimum wage rate poster.
The Washington Department of Labor & Industries has announced that the minimum wage rate in Washington will increase 15 cents per hour effective January 1, 2013 going from $9.04 per hour to $9.19 per hour. Washington law does not allow employers to take a tip credit against minimum wage for tipped employees. Optional labor law posters reflecting the increase are currently available in English and Spanish.
Washington has the highest minimum wage, followed by Oregon, which recently announced its 2013 minimum wage will rise 1.7 percent, or by 15 cents, to $8.95 per hour.
Keeping Your Labor Law Posters Current
The easiest way to make sure your company is compliant and displaying the most up-to-date labor law notices is to subscribe to a program which offers a combined federal and state poster that automatically sends you updates. That way you dont have to stay on top of all the government changes and worry about what mandatory changes require a new poster. It is taken care of for you. All you have to do is switch out the old poster with the new one.